​Our Only Defence 

I was once pulled over and ticketed and had to appear in court in hopes of a reduced fine. Expired sticker; borrowed car; totally my fault for not thoroughly inspecting the vehicle beforehand. But as always, God used the opportunity to teach me more than I expected.

 

As I sat in the court room and observed the long line of people approaching the judge ahead of me, I saw something pretty interesting.

 

Most of the people were there for cell phone related driving offences, and some of the people had made some pretty drastic changes between the ticket and their court date to their vehicles as their defence.

 

“I installed a $500 handsfree device in my vehicle dear judge” one man said in hopes of avoiding the $300 and 3 points for ‘using a cell phone while driving’ charge.

 

But after a few of these excuses, the frustrated judge stopped the preceding and stood up to address the entire court room.

 

“It’s very good that some of you have done something something to correct the issue that caused you to be pulled over and charged, but cell phone bans in vehicles have been around for years now. You should’ve known this and done something about it ‘before’ you got pulled over.”

 

After that, no one went up with an excuse for their charges any longer. What the judge said made a great deal of sense, and anyone who was honest enough with themselves could easily recognize that what the judge said, was just!

 

As I thought about this, I envisioned the terrifying day of judgment upon the world where God will make known to us all the unforgivable sin of not having acknowledged His Son Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of our sins and being born again.

 

I thought of the many excuses that undoubtedly people would try to present… “I only did that particular thing when I was younger God!” or “After I sinned, I felt really bad and never did it again God, so I don’t see why I needed Your Son Jesus!”

 

And all excuses will be silenced by the Eternal Judge for a similar reason as the earthly judge. He might say:

 

“Although you all learnt from your mistakes and changed for the better, that doesn’t mean that the offence of your sinful disposition that you have is completely gone. It simply means that you are learning not to act upon it anymore, and realize the harms it has caused you. But since that offence from your sinful disposition that caused you to act that way in the first place exists in all of humanity, nothing any of you offer of your own doings will ever suffice to exempt you from the judgment you rightly deserve for sinning against Me. But since Jesus My sinless lamb was slain to take the punishment you all rightly deserve, if you had put your trust in Him, then the punishment for your sins would’ve been absolved on account of His offering, because unlike you, *He had no sin* of His own, and was able therefore to offer Himself in your place.”

 

 

———–

 

This has now been witnessed to at the proper time
1Timothy 2:5-6

 

With tears I implore you,

 

Trust ♔ Jesus!

Leave a Reply

