Faith & Visions

In the last days, God says,
I will pour out my Spirit on all people.
Your sons and daughters will prophesy,
your young men will see visions,
your old men will dream dreams.
Acts 2:17

 

Two weeks ago while on my way to work, I met a young woman who I felt compelled to invite for coffee after work.

When we met up, and began getting to know one another, it turns out that we had very similar upbringing.

Our parents were from the West Indies though neither of us were born there.

Our parents had divorced. We both had a Muslim upbringing although both of our families were never practicing.

Since this no longer seemed to be a meeting of coincidence to me anymore, I decided to share my personal testimony with her about how I came to faith in the Lord Jesus Christ since a lot of the things we were discussing were used in how I came to faith.

Soon after I had finished, she just plainly told me, “I don’t believe in God”

 

In the next two days whenever she text’d me or we saw each other, I continued to share the miracles of each day that the Lord Jesus had been doing in my life,

She continued to proclaim “I simply do not believe in God”

 

About a week after getting to know her, in my heartfelt concern for her soul, I began to pray for her deeply. I asked God to reach out and touch her life in such an amazing way that might help her to overcome her unbelief. A way that was specific to her.

As I had my eyes closed and continued to pray for her I began to see a rectangular shaped Zebra with black and white stripes.

It was such an odd vision that but it truly was all that I saw.

I opened my eyes and thought to myself “Lord, really? What was that?” I also thought I was just leaning on my own imagination.

It seemed almost like a stuffed animal but after remembering the Bible’s account of various people’s faith who did things that sounded and seemed ridiculous yet the that was exactly what the Lord had prescribed, I concluded that the Lord’s wisdom was truly beyond my own so I would proceed on what I saw.

I sent the young woman a text that said:

Hi : )

I have a question for you that’s gonna sound pretty odd

Actually, I absolutely know that it’s gonna sound odd

But do you have a stuffed animal with black and white stripes like a Zebra or something

(in my lack of faith, I also nervously included) or a tiger?

She replied back immediately

No, Why?

I just honestly told her that I was praying for her and I truly believed that God had shown me this Zebra looking thing to tell her to help her unbelief

She replied back almost simultaneously as I sent her the text:

Cuz I have this long fuzzy pillow the size of a person that has Zebra print on it in my room.

Completely reassured in the Lord’s power now I was like WHATTT!!!!

“GOD SEES YOU!!!!!”

She replied “What?”

I replied “Just because you don’t believe, doesn’t mean He doesn’t exist”

We didn’t speak much else for the rest of the night because I thought she might need some time to reflect on what happened. The next day when we discussed what had happened. She told me that although she couldn’t explain how I knew the things I knew, that she still refused to believe.

This is the part that breaks my heart.

I’m sure the Lord could use me in just the same way to witness to every single one of you with signs and wonders that He exists, but the truth is, unless you have faith, all the signs and wonders in the world won’t save you.

There is absolutely nothing of my own merit that allows for God to be able to use me to do His will or know this information to witness to other except by faith. Simply by believing and growing in the faith.

Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen. For by it the people of old received their commendation.By faith we understand that the universe was created by the word of God, so that what is seen was not made out of things that are visible.

By faith Abel offered to God a more acceptable sacrifice than Cain, through which he was commended as righteous, God commending him by accepting his gifts. And through his faith, though he died, he still speaks. By faith Enoch was taken up so that he should not see death, and he was not found, because God had taken him. Now before he was taken he was commended as having pleased God. And without faith it is impossible to please him, for whoever would draw near to God must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who seek him. By faith Noah, being warned by God concerning events as yet unseen, in reverent fear constructed an ark for the saving of his household. By this he condemned the world and became an heir of the righteousness that comes by faith.

By faith Abraham obeyed when he was called to go out to a place that he was to receive as an inheritance. And he went out, not knowing where he was going. By faith he went to live in the land of promise, as in a foreign land, living in tents with Isaac and Jacob, heirs with him of the same promise. For he was looking forward to the city that has foundations, whose designer and builder is God. By faith Sarah herself received power to conceive, even when she was past the age, since she considered him faithful who had promised. Therefore from one man, and him as good as dead, were born descendants as many as the stars of heaven and as many as the innumerable grains of sand by the seashore.

These all died in faith, not having received the things promised, but having seen them and greeted them from afar, and having acknowledged that they were strangers and exiles on the earth. For people who speak thus make it clear that they are seeking a homeland. If they had been thinking of that land from which they had gone out, they would have had opportunity to return. But as it is, they desire a better country, that is, a heavenly one. Therefore God is not ashamed to be called their God, for he has prepared for them a city.
Hebrews 11:1-16

 

 

Grace, Love, and Peace always

Leave a Reply

