Who’s Your Teacher?

Preach – Deliver a sermon or religious address to an assembled group of people, typically in church. To publicly proclaim or teach.

Someone posed this question to me the other day. They asked me in all sincerity, “Are you a preacher?”

I actually had to think about it for a moment, because I had never considered what I was doing to be any different than what people had been doing to me all my life.

I have an uncle who I can remember hearing say in my presence when I was as young as twelve years old: “After a hard week of work, you gotta cool off with an ice cold beer”, so as I grew older, I did. Then I also started to tell other people “Hey, its Friday, weeks over, lets get and ice cold beer!”

I used to have the latest rap cd’s and used to think that “money, power, respect” was the key to life, so I saved a ton of money, got myself a fancy car, and maybe even had the respect of some men for having accomplished such trivial feats.

Growing up, my father used to always say to me: “All religions are pretty much the same, they are just various ways of reaching the same One God” so for a large portion of my life, I believed in that and started to even teach it to others.

My family used to have these huge elaborate parties at our home growing up, with friends and family meeting up to drink and some even gossiping about one another, that I used to believe that was just a normal thing, so much so, that as I got older, I started to throw my own elaborate parties.

When my mother got angry, would yell and curse at God to the point where I started to believe that God was a spirit that if you did bad things, He would punish you severely by making you suffer in some way in this life.

Then one day, I had two cousins come visit me who had learnt something different than all I had ever known all my life. They pointed me specifically to the Bible and I began to attend a Pentecostal church. And I couldn’t quite tell why at the time, but the thing that was most captivating about what they were saying was that it sounded so incredibly true. So much so that in an instant I desired to learn more. But even as I learnt more, I still had all of the old past teachings floating around in my head believing that: money was important, that weekends were a time to celebrate with drinks, that all paths lead to truth and i was now on one of them that I, and that if I didn’t do everything according to God that He would punish me and He was the reason I was suffering various things in life.

So with one foot in the truth, and one foot in the world, I attempted to walk the most crooked spiritual walk one can get himself into.

I could talk the talk because I memorized the scriptures, but then I also walked totally opposite of what I was still convinced in my heart had pure truth to it. When thing are all we have ever previously known, they become a part of our identity, so much so that giving them up can feel like giving up a part of who we are.

Then one day, after exhausting every effort to try and live this double life and seeing that all my efforts to be at peace and happy were being severely thwarted at the end of every road, I denied myself from giving into temptation anymore. I slowly drew away from the things of this world to the point where I finally chose to return back to the church I had abandoned for more than five years.

On November 1st 2012, I was saved.

If I had to describe what being saved is, it is like God’s holy spirit coming alive in you, and because of it’s pure and holy presence,  you feel the respectable stench of sin that we all stink of in His presence. In some way, shape, or form, whether through thoughts, words or actions, we ALL live in.

But instead of the guilt and condemnation that you should feel and is due to us all, that Holy Spirit then picks up your broken, beaten and sin soaked body that you’ve neglected, ill-treated, and abused all your life with the recklessness of sin, and lovingly leading you to the cross to repent so that you may receive forgiveness and then leading you to pick up the Bible, read it, and helping you to understand life in a whole new way.

The gift of God’s grace is a free gift to every single one of us who hears the gospel message and believes. If we read the Bible, understand it’s truth by understanding how the holy scriptures are applied to your life, it leads you to have such peace and happiness in this lifetime, as well as a scriptural promise for the life to come.

You will know it to be such truth that your every gratitude to God would be no different than mine.

If you allow Him to lead you to see the truths of this world, you will come to accept that if His promises about here are real, then you can trust in His promises for the life to come as well.

If people consider me a preacher, that’s cool with me. There’s only one significant difference between what I preach versus the teachings of this world…..

Mine is the truth.

Just then, a man came up to Jesus and asked, “Teacher, what good thing shall I do that I may have eternal life?” So He said to him, “Why do you call me good? No one is good but One, that is, God. But if you want to enter into life, keep the commandments.”

He said to Him “which ones?”

Jesus said, “You shall not murder, you shall not commit adultery, you shall not steal, you shall not bear false witness, Honor your father and mother, and You shall love your neighbor as yourself”

The young man said to Him, “All these things I have kept from my youth. What do I still lack?”

Jesus said to him, “if you want to be perfect, go, sell what you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven; and come, follow me”

But when the young man heard that saying, he went away sorrowful, for he had great possessions.

Then Jesus said to His disciples, “assuredly, I say to you that it is hard for a rich man to enter the kingdom of heaven. And again I say to you , it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter the kingdom of God

When His disciples heard it, they were greatly astonished, saying, “Who then can be saved?”

But Jesus looked at them and said to them, “With men this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.”
Matthew 19:16-26

Blessings always,

Seda Ft Chris Belmont – Give It To You
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ufXBXc2bNfg

Leave a Reply

